National Saturday club exhibition 17/6/17

Today we had a day trip with Saturday club to London to view their work in the exhibition at Somerset house. We traveled by train at 8am and were home for 7.30pm. It was a long hot day but one enjoyed by all.  The visit included a presentation by Founder Sir John Sorrell and Lady Sorrell where all ambassador’s were also given a certificate for their contribution to the Saturday clubs. I got to meet him briefly where h handed me my certificate and said ‘without volunteers like me these Saturday clubs wouldn’t happen and thanked me’. I felt really privileged and humbled to have been able to help out and have had so much fun doing it. I hope to carry on helping out next year if possible. I have got so much out of it.

After the exhibition we went out side and in true spirit of the day and the end of another year for the Saturday club it was time to run around and get each other wet.

The Saturday club also had a chance to exhibit their work in our college exhibition and were given some art materials purchased with the money that was made during the festival of making .  I know my daughters are seriously thinking about what they want to do in the future and the Saturday club has helped to expand their options. They were blown away with the work they looked at in the exhibition.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

